Skip to main content


Vedas introduction continued:-

To the Vedanta's, Veda is immortal and eternal.  This statement must necessarily grate against the modern educated view. They shall certainly raise serious objections against such a dictatorial declaration. But when we examine the statement closer, we shall discover that it is not after all such a dictatorial  belief thrust upon the faithful from the Vedanta platform.

The word Veda comes from the root "Vid" meaning 'to know.' Thus Veda means 'knowledge.' To say that Veda is eternal is not to claim Indestructibility  to the text-books of the Vedas. The knowledge of the Self ( Atma ) is indestructible. Even this statement is not easily acceptable to many.

From  the days of Newton's discovery, we know that there is a measurable quantity of force, called the gravitational force, with which the earth is ever attracting everything unto its own centre..Now, are we not right if we say that gravitational force is 'Eternal'in the sense that it was silently acting even before the fateful afternoon when that apple fell upon the nose of Newton and made him sit up and discover the force of gravity? And now, even long after we have forgotten about this discovery, the force is acting upon things on and about the globe.

Just as this gravitational force or for that matter, electricity or the energy-content of each atom-is 'Eternal'. So too, the Truth discussed in the Vedas is Eternal. It is not the Veda text-books; they may get destroyed in some tragic accident.  But no harm can ever come to the Truth, the Self, which is the theme of the sacred Upanisads.  

Popular posts from this blog

All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : 2.1.1.g) -2.


The Scriptures :

1. The Srutis : g)-2

g ).The Vedangas-2.

Vyakarana is Sanskrit grammar. Panini’s books are most famous. Without knowledge of Vyakarana, you cannot understand the Vedas.

Chhandas is metre dealing with prosody.

Nirukta is philology or etymology.

Jyotisha is astronomy and astrology. It deals with the movements of the heavenly bodies, planets, etc., and their influence in human affairs.

Kalpa is the method of ritual.

The Srauta Sutras which explain the ritual of sacrifices belong to Kalpa.

The sulba Sutras, which treat of the measurements which are necessary for laying out the sacrificial areas, also belong to Kalpa.

The Grihya Sutras which concern domestic life, and the Dharma Sutras which deal with ethics, customs and laws, also belong to Kalpa.

Swami Sivananda
 To be continued  ....

All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : Ch-4.5.



5. Ethical Codes In Hinduism :

Hindu ethics is superb. Hinduism lays great emphasis on ethical discipline.

Yama (self-restraint) and Niyama (religious observances or canons) are the foundations of Yoga and Vedanta.

Undeveloped persons cannot think for themselves.

Hence rules of conduct have been laid down by great sages or seers like Manu and Sage Yajnavalkya.

Lord Krishna says in the Gita: “Let the scriptures be thy authority in determining what ought to be done or what ought not to be done.

Knowing what hath been declared by the ordinances of the scriptures, thou oughtest to work in this world” (Ch. XVI-24).

The Smritis written by Yajnavalkya, Manu and other sages distinctly prescribe the rules of conduct.

As you have not got the power nor the time to think of the moral principles and rules given in the scriptures, you can get them from the sages and saints and follow them to the very letter.

Swami Sivananda
To be continued ..

All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : Ch-3.15-4.3.


15. The Law of Spiritual Economics-4.2.

4. Use and Abuse of the Caste System -3.

At the present moment, the Varnasrama system exists in name only.

It has to be rebuilt properly.

Brahmanas, Kshatriyas, Vaisyas and Sudras, who have fallen from their ideals and who are not doing their respective duties, must do their respective duties properly.

They must be educated on right lines.

They must raise themselves to their original lofty level.

The sectarian spirit must die.

They should develop a new understanding heart of love and devotion, with a spirit of co-operation, sacrifice and service.

Next : 5. The Four Asramas

Swami Sivananda
      To be continued...