Skip to main content

The Story of Ganesh :



Wish you all A Happy Ganesh Chathurthi!!!

After he had successfully practised all kinds of sadhana, Sri Ramakrishna one day worshipped his own wife Sarada Devi as Mother of the Universe. He worshipped her in the same manner as one worships Kali or Saraswati, chanting mantras and offering flowers and bel leaves. Sarada Devi was Kali incarnate. He saw her as such.

In this connection Sri Ramakrishna used to tell a story of the Puranas. It was the story of Ganesh. Ganesh is the son of Mother Durga. When he was a small boy he once beat a female cat severely with a stick. The cat was bleeding profusely. Some time later Ganesh came to his mother and saw that there were marks of beating on her whole body. Who had beaten her? Mother Durga said, “My child, it’s you who have beaten me.” Ganesh was speechless with wonder. What was she saying? How could it be possible ? And if he did such a thing he should surely remember it.

Mother Durga said: “Think, and try to remember if you have beaten any creature today.” Ganesh said: “I have beaten a cat. Why do you ask?” Mother Durga said, “My child, you have in fact beaten me; because I am present in every female being in the world.”

Ganesh listened to her and understood that all women were like mother to him. So when he grew up he did not,marry at all.

Sri Ramakrishna saw Mother Kali in all women. This is the reason why, although he married Sarada Devi, he never looked upon her as anything but Mother.

Sri Ramakrishna Mission.

Popular posts from this blog

All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : 2.1.1.g) -2.


The Scriptures :

1. The Srutis : g)-2

g ).The Vedangas-2.

Vyakarana is Sanskrit grammar. Panini’s books are most famous. Without knowledge of Vyakarana, you cannot understand the Vedas.

Chhandas is metre dealing with prosody.

Nirukta is philology or etymology.

Jyotisha is astronomy and astrology. It deals with the movements of the heavenly bodies, planets, etc., and their influence in human affairs.

Kalpa is the method of ritual.

The Srauta Sutras which explain the ritual of sacrifices belong to Kalpa.

The sulba Sutras, which treat of the measurements which are necessary for laying out the sacrificial areas, also belong to Kalpa.

The Grihya Sutras which concern domestic life, and the Dharma Sutras which deal with ethics, customs and laws, also belong to Kalpa.

Swami Sivananda
 To be continued  ....

All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : Ch-4.5.



5. Ethical Codes In Hinduism :

Hindu ethics is superb. Hinduism lays great emphasis on ethical discipline.

Yama (self-restraint) and Niyama (religious observances or canons) are the foundations of Yoga and Vedanta.

Undeveloped persons cannot think for themselves.

Hence rules of conduct have been laid down by great sages or seers like Manu and Sage Yajnavalkya.

Lord Krishna says in the Gita: “Let the scriptures be thy authority in determining what ought to be done or what ought not to be done.

Knowing what hath been declared by the ordinances of the scriptures, thou oughtest to work in this world” (Ch. XVI-24).

The Smritis written by Yajnavalkya, Manu and other sages distinctly prescribe the rules of conduct.

As you have not got the power nor the time to think of the moral principles and rules given in the scriptures, you can get them from the sages and saints and follow them to the very letter.

Swami Sivananda
To be continued ..

All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : Ch-3.15-4.3.


15. The Law of Spiritual Economics-4.2.

4. Use and Abuse of the Caste System -3.

At the present moment, the Varnasrama system exists in name only.

It has to be rebuilt properly.

Brahmanas, Kshatriyas, Vaisyas and Sudras, who have fallen from their ideals and who are not doing their respective duties, must do their respective duties properly.

They must be educated on right lines.

They must raise themselves to their original lofty level.

The sectarian spirit must die.

They should develop a new understanding heart of love and devotion, with a spirit of co-operation, sacrifice and service.

Next : 5. The Four Asramas

Swami Sivananda
      To be continued...