All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : 2.1.1.c.1


The Scriptures :

1. The Srutis : c.1

c). The Mantra-Samhitas-1.

Each Veda consists of four parts: the Mantra-Samhitas or hymns, the Brahmanas or explanations of Mantras or rituals, the Aranyakas and the Upanishads.

The division of the Vedas into four parts is to suit the four stages in a man’s life.

The Mantra-Samhitas are hymns in praise of the Vedic God for attaining material prosperity here and happiness hereafter.

They are metrical poems comprising prayers, hymns and incantations addressed to various deities, both subjective and objective.

The Mantra portion of the Vedas is useful for the Brahmacharins.

Swami Sivananda
 To be continued  ....