All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism : 2.1.1.f) & g)-1.


The Scriptures :

1. The Srutis : f) & g)

f). The Upa-Vedas & g) . The Vedangas-1

f ).The Upa-Vedas

There are four Upa-Vedas or subsidiary Vedas, viz., the Ayurveda, the Dhanurveda, the Gandharva Veda and the Arthasastra, forming auxiliaries to the four Vedas, which mean, respectively, the science of health, the science of war, the science of music and the science of polity.

g ).The Vedangas-1.

There are six Angas or explanatory limbs, to the Vedas: the Siksha and Vyakarana of Panini, the Chhandas of Pingalacharya, the Nirukta of Yaska, the Jyotisha of Garga, and the Kalpas (Srauta, Grihya, Dharma and Sulba) belonging to the authorship of various Rishis.

Siksha is a knowledge of phonetics.

Siksha deals with pronunciation and accent.

The text of the Vedas is arranged in various forms or Pathas.

The Pada-patha gives each word its separate form.

The Krama-patha connects the word in pairs.

Swami Sivananda
 To be continued  ....