All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism :


   1.The Scriptures : 2.
   2. The Smritis : 3
1.The Celebrated Hindu Law-Givers-1.

From time to time, a great law-giver would take his birth.

He would codify the existing laws and remove those which had become obsolete.
He would make some alterations, adaptations, readjustments, additions and subtractions, to suit the needs of the time and see that the way of living of the people would be in accordance with the teachings of the Veda.

Of such law-givers, Manu, Yajnavalkya and Parasara are the most celebrated persons.
Hindu society is founded on, and governed by, the laws made by these three great sages.
The Smritis are named after them.
We have Manu Smriti or Manava Dharma-Sastra (the Laws of Manu or the Institutes of Manu), Yajnavalkya Smriti and Parasara Smriti.

 Manu is the greatest law-giver of the race.
He is the oldest law-giver as well.
The Yajnavalkya Smriti follows the same general lines as the Manu Smriti and is next in importance to it. Manu Smriti and Yajnavalkya Smriti are universally accepted at the present time as authoritative works all over India.
Yajnavalkya Smriti is chiefly consulted in all matters of Hindu Law.
Even the Government of India are applying some of these laws.

Swami Sivananda
   To be continued  ....