All About Bharatiya Sanatana Dharmam otherwise known as Hinduism :

     1.The Scriptures : 12
12. The Six Darsanas.1

These are the intellectual section of the Hindu writings, while the first four are intuitional, and the fifth inspirational and emotional.
Darsanas are schools of philosophy based on the Vedas.
The Agamas are theological.
The Darsana literature is philosophical.
The Darsanas are meant for the erudite scholars who are endowed with acute acumen, good understanding, power of reasoning and subtle intellect.
The Itihasas, Puranas and Agamas are meant for the masses.
The Darsanas appeal to the intellect, while the Itihasas, Puranas, etc., appeal to the heart.

Philosophy has six divisions—Shad-darsana—the six Darsanas or ways of seeing things, usually called the six systems or six different schools of thought.
The six schools of philosophy are the six instruments of true teaching or the six demonstrations of Truth.
Each school has developed, systematised and correlated the various parts of the Veda in its own way.
Each system has its Sutrakara, i.e., the one great Rishi who systematised the doctrines of the school and put them in short aphorisms or Sutras.
Swami Sivananda
     To be continued....

Popular posts from this blog

MESSAGE OF SWAMI CHIDANANDA TO MANKIND-3-10.5.1 ( Children and Youth of Bharatham are misguided by some evil forces, in the name of student wings sponsored by dirty political parties like Congress, Communists, etc., ... eliminate these demons and purify this Holy Nation to maintain Sanatana Dharma here.

A Summary of the Srimad Bhagavatham : Ch-8. Part-2.